Bubbles

This week I was itching to make something quilty.  Not too complicated, not very big, but it had to be colorful.  I got a bunch of this fabric a few years ago, it’s an ombre fade from dark to light to dark again.  I thought it was time to use some.  I had made four of these blocks a while ago but they got pushed to the side for something else.  The Bubble fabric is called Effervescence by Robert Kaufman the colors compliment each other.IMG_1677

I didn’t take notes on sizes or cutting methods for the above blocks, and I was impatient to start something.  I recalled a recently seen quilt that was made up of dots formed by drunkards path blocks.  The blocks were set on a solid background to make them float.  That’s how I came up with “Bubbles”.

I used a 4 inch finished acrylic template kit from Bloc-Loc to make the 40 blocks.  The kit comes with the two pieces to cut around and then once you sew them together, the Bloc-loc template to square them up.  The finishing template has a routed out channel that the seam fits right into, there’s no ruler rocking and the blocks come out close to perfect. Take that curved seams.  I want to add that using a smaller diameter rotary blade is a must to cut the inside curves.  Here’s a good tutorial about making D.P. blocks at Red Pepper Quilts

Next up for this top is figuring out the background squares.  I think I’m going to do a mix of 4 and 8 inch blocks to get a final size of about 40 x 48″.

Linking up with Sarah at Confessions of a Fabric Addict for “Can I get a Whoop Whoop?” and Judy H. at Small Quilts and Doll Quilts for Design Wall Monday this week.

Can you believe its been 40 years since Star Wars hit the screen?

