Tree of Life

Last summer I saw Edyta Sitars of Laundry Basket Quilts Blue Spruce quilt pattern made using her line of fabrics “Cold Spell”.  I bought a jelly roll of the line, and filed it away for someday.  I have always liked her color choices and patterns.  I made “Hop to it” a few years ago, still like looking at it.

285082562

Blue Spruce by Laundry Basket Quilts

 

Yesterday I was looking for something new to start and that roll caught my eye.  I don’t have the specific pattern, but I do have the Laundry Basket  book Scrappy Firework Quilts.  In it is a pattern called Schoolhouse Scrappy quilt, which has a tree of life block in it.  I’m going to use it to make my own version of the Blue Spruce quilt.  I like the way the blocks are staggered in her quilt and because they are rectangular, it will make the quilt a bit more symmetrical.  I’m not sure if I will do the appliqué like the original quilt has, because it is more the colors and blocks that I like.  Here are my pieces so far:

IMG_1305

I have been keeping up with the Farmer’s wife 1930 Sampler Quilt too.  Here are my latest 4 blocks:

IMG_1309

Fern

IMG_1306

Farmers Wife

IMG_1283

Eva

 

IMG_1297

Fanny

Another week of 2016 is starting.  I’m linking up with Judy at Patchwork times for Design Wall Monday.  Thanks for stopping by.

