Quilted and Bound. Done. Yay!

Amish With a Twist ll 105

Amish With a Twist ll 105″ x 105″

I finished my Amish with a Twist ll today.  I started it as a BOM in the beginning of 2013 and steadily worked on it month by month.  Then it sat in the TBQ drawer for a few months while I thought about quilting designs.  I ended up using some Panto’s for the borders and some purchased pounce stencils.  I made my own chalk stencils out of thin paper by drawing out the design then piercing the lines with a large size needle.  It worked pretty well, enough so there is continuity between the design repeats and sizes. I used a bunch of different templates and rulers too.  A few of my favorite blocks:

IMG_1028 IMG_1029 IMG_1033 IMG_1030 IMG_1032

I used Warm and Natural cotton batting and a pretty print called Ambrosia, by Blank Quilting, on the back. Threads include Kimono silk for the outer borders, and center feathers, light grey Magnifico for most of the quilting, some variegated green poly thread, with Bottom line in the bobbin.  This is also one of the last quilts I did on my Tin Lizzie.

I’m linking up today with Whoop Whoop Friday at Confessions of a Fabric Addict and Pinkdoxies Pet Projects show.  YAY ME!

8 thoughts on “Quilted and Bound. Done. Yay!

  1. This quilt is gorgeous, stunning and beautiful. The quilting is amazing. I really love this quilt. Where can I find the pattern?

      • It isn’t a beginner project. That being said, Nancy Rink is a very through pattern writer, she lays things out in an easy to follow manner. The only thing you need to be sure of is your 1/4″ seam. Mine was bit large when I made the log cabin blocks, so the finished at 11 ½ square instead of 12″. I had to pull them all apart and re-sew them so they would fit. Also each time I got a new color solid, I would write the name on the selvedge in permanent ink. There are many different blues and greens. Its fun though!

  2. Outstanding quilt! It’s so hard keeping blocks the correct size, and is worth the time to measure as we go. I’ve had them turn out too large as well as too small!

    Your quilting is spot on! Love that bear claw, and have never seen one quilted like it. Glad you linked up with the Pet Project Show, and do check back with us next week.

Comments are closed.